Farrell & Anderson

I have been such a bad blogger lately! Between interning and my part-time job, it’s hectic. Nonetheless, there are obvious perks. Perks such as being invited to preview menswear label Farrell’s AW12 collection in Brown Thomas ahead of its debut launch on Irish shores on Friday. An intimate gathering of some of the Irish fashion industry’s biggest movers and shakers, it was chaired by Lorraine Keane, with PR by Caroline Kennedy and Glenda Gilson grabbing a piece for Xposé.

Why the fuss over another menswear brand to be housed in Brown Thomas? The reason being that reformed hell raiser and Take That ‘manbander’ Robbie Williams is behind the label. I won’t go into too much detail as I will post a more in-depth piece on the collection itself in the coming days. But I will say this – Robbie, unsurprisingly, is a serious charmer, but also down-to-earth and clearly devoted to the label. Speaking exuberantly and with pride of the label founded as an homage to his beloved grandfather, Jack Farrell, Robbie has high hopes for the brand and its future endeavours.

Alongside his Head of Design, Ben Dickens (formerly Head of Menswear for Burberry, no less), Robbie sees Farrell as a line “for the working class peacock. It’s somebody that wants to make a statement, without making a statement. I think a lot of people do a lot of stuff that becomes more ‘costumey’ than it does actual day-to-day wear. Farrell is still very much dapper but, like I said, Saville Row quality at high-street prices!”

In other events from Friday, I popped into Topshop to catch a glimpse of JW Anderson X Topshop. Unfortunately, there was a slight mishap with the order and a good portion of the stock has been ‘misplaced’.  I was more than happy with what I did get my hands on though, mainly the above puffa-style paisley pencil skirt. While I haven’t purchased it as of yet – I’m still mulling over it – the skirt is gorgeous, and a total investment. I also tried on the matching shell top, but as is obvious, the bulky shape doesn’t do much for me.

En route to Topshop to check out the collection, I was stopped by two lovely girls from missguided.co.uk for a street style snap. It should be online in a few days or so and I’ll post it then. In the meantime, will anybody be shopping JW Anderson X Topshop? Or Farrell’s AW12 for that matter?

2 thoughts on “Farrell & Anderson

    • Yeah, I decided against it as an all-in-one (despite how paisley and mathcy-matchy obsessed I am right now…) because it’s just not flattering…. Still GAWJUS though!

Leave a Reply

